The Sunday Review: LEGEND – Marie Lu

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills. Goodreads

——


**WARNING: There are some minor spoilers in this review, so if you haven’t read the book yet and hate to know anything that’ll happen, I recommend coming back later!


I’ve been toying with the idea of tackling this trilogy for quite some time, but after The Hunger Games, Divergent and Razorland… well, I kind of needed a break from dystopia. But post-reading slump, and after seeing a few people raving about these books at great length, I decided to give them a try. 

I enjoyed this book. The action flows seamlessly, the two main characters are pretty kickass (and there are a few other interesting characters in there too – like Ollie, June’s dog) and the plot does have a few great twists and turns. There was enough here to entertain me and get me through to the end of the book, and I think that for fans of Divergent and THG who are looking for something to fill that particular void, there’s a lot here to like.
  
But that’s not to say it was perfect. It started off with a lot of promise. Kickass girl with amazing combat skills? Super ninja kid who has been sneaking in and out of buildings and compounds and evading the authorities so effectively for years that they don’t even know what he looks like? 

http://uproxx.com/gammasquad/2013/11/the-hunger-games-catching-fire-clips-2/

http://www.gifbin.com/984055

Dude. Epic beginning. Then the thing with June’s brother happens, and I thought wow. This could really turn the expected on its head and pit the two protagonists against one another – which would be the first time I’ve read this type of YA book where the author subverted the expected love interests. I was impressed.

http://pandaemonial.tumblr.com/

For about three chapters. Then the plot quickly reverted to exactly what I would normally expect. It’s not a bad story or anything, don’t get me wrong. In fact, I think its main failing was that it came so close to doing something unique – close enough for me to see how it would play out in my mind – so when it failed to do so, I was disappointed. I wanted the author to take some risks with her characters and risk alienating a few readers who want to travel well-trodden, romantic ground in order to provide those of us who are bored with something new and exciting. And it came so close. So I think that disappointment lingered and left me feeling ambivalent.

http://www.threadbombing.com/details.php?image_id=4356

Because of this, it ended up being a good-but-not-great read for me. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to die-hard fans of THG, Divergent or Razorland, and I’d know they were getting an entertaining read that would live up to their expectations. But it isn’t one I’ll be telling everyone out there to read. It’s one of those that is good – for its niche. Good enough that I’ll be continuing on with the series because I am curious to see what happens next, so there are two more chances to wow me!

——

Book Title: Legend
Author: Marie Lu
Series: Legend Trilogy #1
Edition: Hardcover
Published By: Putnam Juvenile
Released: Nov. 29, 2011
Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Dystopia
Pages: 320
Date Read: April 1-8, 2014
Rating: 7/10

//<![CDATA[ var sc_project=10144299; var sc_invisible=1; var sc_security="82f610c9"; var scJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://secure." : "http://www."); document.write("”); //]]>

blogger counters

2 thoughts on “The Sunday Review: LEGEND – Marie Lu

  1. Karolina Z.

    Oh, I have had this book on my TBR pile forever. I can't wait to read it. Sadly (or maybe thank god?) your disclaimer kept me from reading your review and possibly ruining the experience for me. I'm not one for spoilers. I lose interest after reading them. However, I will come back and read it after I am done with it 🙂

    Reply
  2. Karolina Z.

    Oh, I have had this book on my TBR pile forever. I can't wait to read it. Sadly (or maybe thank god?) your disclaimer kept me from reading your review and possibly ruining the experience for me. I'm not one for spoilers. I lose interest after reading them. However, I will come back and read it after I am done with it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *