Category Archives: Uncategorized

TOP TEN TUESDAY | FAVOURITE BOOKS READ IN 2017

  I’m tweaking this topic a little (as I seem to pretty much every week these days) because as you guys know, I’ve been behind on my reading in the last couple of years, and have only really gotten back into reading at all in the second half of the year. And because of that, I’ve read a lot less… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | A BEAUTIFUL, TERRIBLE THING – JEN WAITE

  This is a memoir, but it reads more like a romance novel turned psychological thriller. In it Jen Waite shares the harrowing story of her fairytale marriage to a man who starts off as her soul mate and dream partner, but who becomes, more or less overnight, someone completely different. The book is Jen’s struggle to understand why her… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE POWER – NAOMI ALDERMAN

  This is one of the books I’ve heard most about in the past six months, since it was nominated for (and later won, much to the surprise of many, myself included) the Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction. This book is part dystopian fantasy, part sociological speculation. It brings to life a theoretical question many who study gender have asked… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | REBECCA – DAPHNE DU MAURIER

  I remember a battered copy of this book, mass market paperback, yellowed and curling pages, ugly cover, somehow making its way onto my bookshelves when I was a teenager. I can’t remember if I read the first few pages and decided it wasn’t my thing, or if I was put off by the cover. But whatever the reason, I… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE LIE OF THE LAND – AMANDA CRAIG

  This is only the second Amanda Craig book I’ve read (the other being Hearts and Minds, which was one of my favourite books of 2014) but I already feel like I can count her among my all-time favourite authors. The Lie of the Land is, at its center, about the dissolution of a marriage in modern times. Why the… Read more »

TOP TEN TUESDAY | BOOKS WITH CHARACTERS WHO…

      4 Comments on TOP TEN TUESDAY | BOOKS WITH CHARACTERS WHO…

  I couldn’t decide on one category of characters for this post, so I kind of cheated and picked a few. On the plus side, you get a bit more variety! …Renewed my faith in humanity        The Hate U Give – Angie Thomas The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie… Read more »

TOP TEN TUESDAY | BOOKS TO PUT ON YOUR TBR IF YOU MISSED 2016 (LIKE I DID)

  As any of you who have followed my blog for a while know, there was a long gap in my blogging (and reading) life over the past year or so. Which means that not only did you miss me (I assume), but I missed out on everything that was going on in the bookish world. The only plus to… Read more »

STACKING THE SHELVES | #89

      1 Comment on STACKING THE SHELVES | #89

  September has come with an overwhelming amount of long-anticipated and excellent-sounding book releases. So. Many. Good. Books. My pre-orders are rolling in like they heard there was a party with an open bar. This week brought several I’ve been hearing a lot about, and that I’ve been eagerly anticipating:                 Did You Ever Have A Family –… Read more »

TOP TEN TUESDAY | SERIES I HAVE YET TO FINISH

  In 2013, when I first started reading again post-university, I was drawn to young adult books. Many of the ones I was drawn to were series I’d heard a lot of other bloggers raving about: Divergent, The Hunger Games, Shades of London. Some of the series were already published, so I was able to read all the books in… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | WIND/PINBALL – HARUKI MURAKAMI

  Haruki Murakami’s newest book is actually a set of two novels (or novellas) that were the very first stories he ever wrote. This is the first time in years these two stories have been available in print – much less in English – and they provide a fascinating glimpse of this venerable writer’s beginnings. Murakami’s writing is unlike any… Read more »

THE *SUNDAY REVIEW | ALIVE – SCOTT SIGLER

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not… Read more »

I’M ON VACATION!

      12 Comments on I’M ON VACATION!

Click on image to view source. I’ve got some exciting news! I’m off on a little adventure to a part of the world I’ve never been before. I’m heading down to New Orleans, Louisiana to check out the birthplace of jazz and see the Mississippi for the very first time. I’ve actually never been to the southern United States before,… Read more »