Category Archives: Young Adult

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE HATE U GIVE – ANGIE THOMAS

  This is the story of Starr, a sixteen-year-old from south central L.A. – not the part of L.A. where white people live in big houses, but the part they stay well clear of. But Starr doesn’t quite fit in. She and her brother go to a private school 45 minutes drive from home, where most of the other students… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | I HUNT KILLERS – BARRY LYGA

  I’ve had this on my shelf for a very long time, and when I was going through my hidden books on one of the double-stacked shelves looking for some to get rid of, I figured I might as well give this one a try. It’s the story of Jasper Dent, whose father is the most notorious serial killer in… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE QUEEN OF BRIGHT AND SHINY THINGS – ANN AGUIRRE

  I discovered Ann Aguirre via her Razorland Trilogy (Enclave, Outpost and Horde), which I started reading thanks to a tip from a fellow book lover on Twitter and ended up loving. So when this one came out, I just had to find out if her storytelling chops translate from fantasy to contemporary. Lucky for me, they do. Unlike the… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | SHADOW AND BONE – LEIGH BARDUGO

  If you read YA books and haven’t been living under a rock, this series has been on your radar for a couple of years now. It’s been Tweeted about, quoted, squeed over and highly anticipated. As usual, I put off reading it because I’m wary of hype and worry that books won’t live up to their reputations. I finally… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA – BECKY ALBERTALLI

  This book has been on my radar for months, mostly due to the hundreds of pictures featuring it along with packages of Oreos on my Twitter feed. I put off reading it half because I was scared it wouldn’t live up to the hype, and half because if it did, I wanted to save it. But this month has… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | EXTRAORDINARY MEANS – ROBYN SCHNEIDER

  I started this book sitting in a bookstore and before I knew it I was in the third chapter. When I finally got my own copy and sat down to read it in earnest, I ended up finishing the entire thing in one sitting. Which is always a good sign. The story is an interesting one. It’s a fictional… Read more »

RELEASE DAY REVIEW | EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING – NICOLA YOON

  I’ve been hearing about this book for months now, just waiting until I could get my hands on a copy. But I didn’t actually know much about it other than everyone was loving it up. When it arrived in my mailbox, I immediately tore into it. 24 hours later, I was done. It’s the story of a girl called… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | ARMADA – ERNEST CLINE

  Armada is the long-anticipated (by me, anyway) follow up to Ernest Cline’s futuristic video-game drama, Ready Player One. The first thing I need to tell you is that I’m not a gamer. I’m not even much into sci-fi. But I absolutely loved Ready Player One. Sure, there was a lot about video games, but it wasn’t off-putting to those… Read more »

THE *SUNDAY REVIEW | ALIVE – SCOTT SIGLER

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE FEVER – MEGAN ABBOTT

  The panic unleashed by a mysterious contagion threatens the bonds of family and community in a seemingly idyllic suburban community. The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hockey star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie’s best… Read more »