Category Archives: Young Adult

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE QUEEN OF BRIGHT AND SHINY THINGS – ANN AGUIRRE

Rain City Reads   December 20, 2015   Comments Off on THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE QUEEN OF BRIGHT AND SHINY THINGS – ANN AGUIRRE

  I discovered Ann Aguirre via her Razorland Trilogy (Enclave, Outpost and Horde), which I started reading thanks to a tip from a fellow book lover on Twitter and ended up loving. So when this one came out, I just had to find out if her storytelling chops translate from fantasy to contemporary. Lucky for me, they do. Unlike the… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | SHADOW AND BONE – LEIGH BARDUGO

Rain City Reads   December 13, 2015   Comments Off on THE SUNDAY REVIEW | SHADOW AND BONE – LEIGH BARDUGO

  If you read YA books and haven’t been living under a rock, this series has been on your radar for a couple of years now. It’s been Tweeted about, quoted, squeed over and highly anticipated. As usual, I put off reading it because I’m wary of hype and worry that books won’t live up to their reputations. I finally… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA – BECKY ALBERTALLI

  This book has been on my radar for months, mostly due to the hundreds of pictures featuring it along with packages of Oreos on my Twitter feed. I put off reading it half because I was scared it wouldn’t live up to the hype, and half because if it did, I wanted to save it. But this month has… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | EXTRAORDINARY MEANS – ROBYN SCHNEIDER

Rain City Reads   November 15, 2015   Comments Off on THE SUNDAY REVIEW | EXTRAORDINARY MEANS – ROBYN SCHNEIDER

  I started this book sitting in a bookstore and before I knew it I was in the third chapter. When I finally got my own copy and sat down to read it in earnest, I ended up finishing the entire thing in one sitting. Which is always a good sign. The story is an interesting one. It’s a fictional… Read more »

RELEASE DAY REVIEW | EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING – NICOLA YOON

  I’ve been hearing about this book for months now, just waiting until I could get my hands on a copy. But I didn’t actually know much about it other than everyone was loving it up. When it arrived in my mailbox, I immediately tore into it. 24 hours later, I was done. It’s the story of a girl called… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | ARMADA – ERNEST CLINE

  Armada is the long-anticipated (by me, anyway) follow up to Ernest Cline’s futuristic video-game drama, Ready Player One. The first thing I need to tell you is that I’m not a gamer. I’m not even much into sci-fi. But I absolutely loved Ready Player One. Sure, there was a lot about video games, but it wasn’t off-putting to those… Read more »

THE *SUNDAY REVIEW | ALIVE – SCOTT SIGLER

Rain City Reads   August 5, 2015   Comments Off on THE *SUNDAY REVIEW | ALIVE – SCOTT SIGLER

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE FEVER – MEGAN ABBOTT

Rain City Reads   June 28, 2015   Comments Off on THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE FEVER – MEGAN ABBOTT

  The panic unleashed by a mysterious contagion threatens the bonds of family and community in a seemingly idyllic suburban community. The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hockey star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie’s best… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | FINDING AUDREY – SOPHIE KINSELLA

Rain City Reads   June 21, 2015   Comments Off on THE SUNDAY REVIEW | FINDING AUDREY – SOPHIE KINSELLA

  From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Shopaholic series comes a terrific blend of comedy, romance, and psychological recovery in a contemporary YA novel sure to inspire and entertain. An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | WE ARE ALL MADE OF MOLECULES – SUSIN NIELSEN

  Thirteen-year-old Stewart is academically brilliant but socially clueless. Fourteen-year-old Ashley is the undisputed “It” girl in her class, but her grades stink. Their worlds are about to collide when Stewart and his dad move in with Ashley and her mom. Stewart is trying to be 89.9 percent happy about it, but Ashley is 110 percent horrified. She already has… Read more »