Category Archives: Suspense

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE – JESSICA KNOLL

  Luckiest Girl Alive is unlike any other book I’ve read. Don’t get me wrong, there are elements to it that will feel familiar. But taken as a whole it completely surprised me. The book begins with a perfect girl. She’s got a high-powered job working for a magazine in New York, she’s pretty and thin, she’s engaged to a… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | ARMADA – ERNEST CLINE

  Armada is the long-anticipated (by me, anyway) follow up to Ernest Cline’s futuristic video-game drama, Ready Player One. The first thing I need to tell you is that I’m not a gamer. I’m not even much into sci-fi. But I absolutely loved Ready Player One. Sure, there was a lot about video games, but it wasn’t off-putting to those… Read more »

THE *SUNDAY REVIEW | ALIVE – SCOTT SIGLER

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE FEVER – MEGAN ABBOTT

  The panic unleashed by a mysterious contagion threatens the bonds of family and community in a seemingly idyllic suburban community. The Nash family is close-knit. Tom is a popular teacher, father of two teens: Eli, a hockey star and girl magnet, and his sister Deenie, a diligent student. Their seeming stability, however, is thrown into chaos when Deenie’s best… Read more »

RELEASE DAY REVIEW | SOMEONE IS WATCHING – JOY FIELDING

A fast-paced, intense psychological thriller from an international bestselling author–Rear Window meets The Silent Wife.    Bailey has it all. At least, she had it all–a job she loved as a high-powered investigator in a top Miami law firm, a gorgeous condo in a stylish downtown high rise, a handsome boyfriend, a sizeable inheritance. A seemingly idyllic life. But that… Read more »

THE SUNDAY [BOOK & MOVIE] REVIEW | THE DROP – DENNIS LEHANE

Dennis Lehane returns to the streets of Mystic River with this love story wrapped in a crime story wrapped in a journey of faith—the basis for the major motion picture The Drop, from Fox Searchlight Pictures directed by Michaël Roskam, screenplay by Dennis Lehane, and starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace, and James Gandolfini. Three days after Christmas, a lonely bartender… Read more »

RELEASE DAY REVIEW | THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN – PAULA HAWKINS

Three women, three men, connected through marriage or infidelity. Each is to blame for something. But only one is a killer in this nail-biting, stealthy psychological thriller about human frailty and obsession. Just what goes on in the houses you pass by every day? Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and evening, rattling over the same junctions, flashing… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | LITTLE WHITE LIES – KATIE DALE

Fans of Pretty Little Liars will be ensnared in this tale of deceit. The first time Lou meets mysterious Christian, she knows he is The One. But Christian is hiding a terrible secret. Why does he clam up every time Lou asks about his past? Why doesn’t he have any family photos, and why does he dye his blond hair… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | MR. CHURCHILL’S SECRETARY – SUSAN ELIA MACNEAL

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | STATION ELEVEN – EMILY ST. JOHN MANDEL

An audacious, darkly glittering novel about art, fame and ambition set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, from the author of three highly acclaimed previous novels. One snowy night a famous Hollywood actor slumps over and dies onstage during a production of King Lear. Hours later, the world as we know it begins to dissolve. Moving back and forth… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | HEARTS AND MINDS – AMANDA CRAIG

  Rich or poor, five people, seemingly very different, find their lives in the capital connected in undreamed-of ways. There is Job, the illegal mini-cab driver whose wife in Zimbabwe no longer answers his letters; Ian, the idealistic supply teacher in exile from South Africa; Katie from New York, jilted and miserable as a dogsbody at a political magazine, and… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | I AM THE MISSION – ALLEN ZADOFF

He was the perfect assassin. No name. No past. No remorse. Perfect, that is, until he began to ask questions and challenge his orders. Now The Program is worried that their valuable soldier has become a liability. And so Boy Nobody is given a new mission. A test of sorts. A chance to prove his loyalty. His objective: Take out… Read more »

The Sunday Review: CHAMPION – Marie Lu

He is a Legend. She is a Prodigy. Who will be Champion? June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been… Read more »

The Sunday Review: BEING HENRY DAVID – Cal Armistead

Seventeen-year-old “Hank” has found himself at Penn Station in New York City with no memory of anything –who he is, where he came from, why he’s running away. His only possession is a worn copy of Walden, by Henry David Thoreau. And so he becomes Henry David-or “Hank” and takes first to the streets, and then to the only destination… Read more »

BOOK REVIEW | HORDE – ANN AGUIRRE

The horde is coming. Salvation is surrounded, monsters at the gates, and this time, they’re not going away. When Deuce, Fade, Stalker and Tegan set out, the odds are against them. But the odds have been stacked against Deuce from the moment she was born. She might not be a Huntress anymore, but she doesn’t run. With her knives in… Read more »

BOOK REVIEW | OUTPOST – ANN AGUIRRE

      3 Comments on BOOK REVIEW | OUTPOST – ANN AGUIRRE

  Deuce’s whole world has changed. Down below, she was considered an adult. Now, topside in a town called Salvation, she’s a brat in need of training in the eyes of the townsfolk. She doesn’t fit in with the other girls: Deuce only knows how to fight. To make matters worse, her Hunter partner, Fade, keeps Deuce at a distance. Her… Read more »

THE GATHERING – Kelley Armstrong

      No Comments on THE GATHERING – Kelley Armstrong

An ordinary town…full of deadly secrets Strange things have been happening in sixteen-year-old Maya’s small Vancouver Island community – from the mountain lions that have been constantly approaching her to her best friend’s hidden talent for “feeling” out people and situations. There’s also a sexy new bad boy who makes Maya feel . . . different. Combine that with a… Read more »

THE DIVINERS – Libba Bray

      2 Comments on THE DIVINERS – Libba Bray

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult. Evie… Read more »