Category Archives: Sci Fi

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS – M.R. CAREY

  I read this book as a buddy read with Katie and Shaina, which was actually a really good thing, because I don’t think I would have stuck with it if I hadn’t been accountable to two other people. Which would have been my loss, because once I got past the initial world-building and slow beginning, it really picked up. I went… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | ARMADA – ERNEST CLINE

  Armada is the long-anticipated (by me, anyway) follow up to Ernest Cline’s futuristic video-game drama, Ready Player One. The first thing I need to tell you is that I’m not a gamer. I’m not even much into sci-fi. But I absolutely loved Ready Player One. Sure, there was a lot about video games, but it wasn’t off-putting to those… Read more »

THE *SUNDAY REVIEW | ALIVE – SCOTT SIGLER

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | LIFE AFTER LIFE – KATE ATKINSON

“Is there Life After Life, chance after chance to rewrite one’s destiny? That is the question posed by Atkinson’s tale and brought to life by the miracle of her talent.” —Toronto Star What if you had the chance to live your life again and again, until you finally got it right?  During a snowstorm in England in 1910, a baby… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | THE MARTIAN – ANDY WEIR

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars. Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there. After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s… Read more »

THE SUNDAY REVIEW | STATION ELEVEN – EMILY ST. JOHN MANDEL

An audacious, darkly glittering novel about art, fame and ambition set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, from the author of three highly acclaimed previous novels. One snowy night a famous Hollywood actor slumps over and dies onstage during a production of King Lear. Hours later, the world as we know it begins to dissolve. Moving back and forth… Read more »

The Sunday Review: THESE BROKEN STARS – Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

  It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero… Read more »

READY PLAYER ONE – Ernest Cline

      1 Comment on READY PLAYER ONE – Ernest Cline

Like most of humanity, Wade Watts escapes his grim surroundings by spending his waking hours jacked into the OASIS, a sprawling virtual utopia that lets you be anything you want to be, a place where you can live and play and fall in love on any of ten thousand planets. And like most of humanity, Wade dreams of being the… Read more »